When you’re creating a document on your computer, you know you need to save it every so often. You lose changes if something happens and the computer shuts down prematurely. All the unsaved changes will be gone with the wind, along with all the effort you’ve put into it. It’s not so different when it comes to your website.

Things get even more complicated when you lose important information along the way. Maybe you saved the content and continued working on it, and the server autosaved some of your recent changes, but not all of them. Then, you get confused because you don’t know where things went wrong. Thankfully, you can track changes on your website to check the following:

Go Through the Site’s History

The whole point of saving site changes is to know where things changed and why. If the whole website is saved — or perhaps you’re looking at archived websites you can’t completely let go of — you’ll be able to check on their history from time to time.

This will help if you’re in the process of creating another website that has some similarities with your archived one. You can check the archive to see how you did things before and figure out what you can improve on your new project.

See Who Last Made Changes

In the case of active websites, there might be several people accessing it and making some changes. You’ll want to know who was responsible for a change that has impacted the website positively or negatively.

For positive changes, you can give them the recognition they deserve. For negative changes, you can sit down with the person to know the reasoning behind the changes they made. It could be something as simple as updating the contact details posted on the site, which they genuinely thought was correct. You wouldn’t want to punish someone for a mistake that happened because they were fed the wrong information.

Revert to a Previous Version of the Website

Team working on a project
An archived website has reached the final stage of its lifespan, but if you have a new version of it live, in case issues arise, you can revert to a previous version that’s more stable or more suitable for your needs. Of course, you want to improve your website and for that purpose, you’ve been tinkering with its functionalities.

However, somewhere along the way, something went wrong and now the website is not working as good as it used to. Instead of working on it further and risking breaking everything, you would rather just revert it to the older but better version everyone has already tested several times. You know it’s stable, so the risks of its security being compromised are also lower.

When it comes to website design, you’re never really done. You want to continue working on the project just to see how much of it you can optimize until there’s nothing else you can do with it and you move on to another project. When those changes don’t give the expected good results, however, it’s best to accept that newer isn’t necessarily better.